search
search

Louisiana FMLA Guidelines For Employers

Louisiana FMLA And Leave Law Guidelines And Requirements

The Family & Medical Leave Act (FMLA) is a federal law that applies to employer organizations with 50 or more employees for 20 or more workweeks in the current or previous calendar year.

The Family & Medical Leave Act does not take the place of other sources of leave, including Louisiana's FMLA and other state leave laws. To the extent an organization subject to the FMLA is also subject to a state leave law, it must comply with both the FMLA and the state leave law.

The challenge in coordinating compliance with federal and state law is that the state leave laws may differ from FMLA law in employee eligibility criteria, as well as the length and type of protection.FMLA Training & Certification Program

Louisiana's FMLA And Other Leave Laws

Like employers in other states, Louisiana employers must follow the federally-mandated Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA), which requires eligible employees to take unpaid leave under specific rules.

In addition, Louisiana employment discrimination law requires employers with 25 or more employees to allow employees who are temporarily disabled by pregnancy and childbirth to take time off from work. Under this law, employees may take: up to six weeks off for a normal pregnancy and childbirth; up to four months off for more disabling pregnancies.

How To Determine Whether FMLA Guidelines Or State Guidelines Apply In Louisiana

Here are some guidelines if your organization is subject to both FMLA and Louisiana leave law:
  • If an eligible employee wishes to take a leave that is covered under both the state leave law and the FMLA, then generally the leave can be run concurrently. In other words, it can be counted towards satisfying the requirements under both state and federal law simultaneously
  • If an eligible employee wishes to take a leave covered under the FMLA, but not also covered under the state leave law, that leave can only count towards satisfaction of the FMLA requirements. The total amount of leave available under the state law would still be available to that employee
  • If an eligible employee wishes to take a leave covered under the state leave law, but not also covered under the FMLA, that leave can only count towards satisfaction of the state leave law. The total amount of leave available under the FMLA (e.g., 12 weeks or 26 weeks) would still be available to the employee
Note: The above is excerpted from our FMLA Training & Certification Program.

Recommended Training For Louisiana's FMLA Requirements

From seminars to webinars to online courses, HRTrainingCenter offers a variety of FMLA compliance training courses. Simply select one of our 'Recommended Courses' or use the search box to find your desired FMLA training course.To find other FMLA training courses, use the search box below.

Find Seminars, Webinars, And Online Training In Your Area
Professional Development
Products & Services to help manage and grow your career!

More Info On Louisiana FMLA Leave Law

For specific information on Louisiana's FMLA and other leave laws, contact:

Louisiana Office of Workforce Development
1001 North 23rd Street
Post Office Box 94094
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9094
Fax: (225) 342-7960
owd@lwc.la.gov
http://www.laworks.net/


Disclaimer: This information provided is based on state laws and regulations, and is subject to change. While we make every effort to asure this information is current and accurate, it is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice, and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.
FacebookHRTrainingCenter.com. 5755 North Point Parkway, Suite 227 | Alpharetta, GA 30022 | 770-410-1219 | support@HRTrainingCenter.com
Copyright HRTrainingCenter.com 2018 | Web Site Development by OTAU